Relationships can be hard- even if crossdressing isnt involved

07/06/2015 14:10

This can go without saying. We have friends who are constantly in turmoil about relationships with silly arguments and issues looking at me and my wife as a couple and saying how do you remain best friends
and we've never seen you argue etc but we do fall out and argue like any couple (bet never for very long)  and sometimes crossdressing is brought up but rare you have to work on a relationship the same as you have to work on anything within a relationship which may be out of the societal norm aka Crossdressing.


If you're going to have a long-term relationship, the inevitable questions come up: "Do I tell her?" "When do I tell
her?" "What if she rejects me?" "Could I stop if she asked me to?"


Remember, this isn't just something done as a fashion statement, (there is a little bit more to Crossdressing than merely dressing up especially where it gives you that bit of escapism and stress relief)


Think of it like if your significant other asked you to throw out your Football Jerseys (Supporting
your football team is part of you the same as Crossdressing is part of you).

 

With crossdressers, it's a key part of our identity if we realise it or not and maybe part of the attraction... no I don't mean attraction in my wife fancies me as "Davina" (wish she would) I mean attraction in my personality which I suppose I don't know or didn't know was there this softer side beneath the façade of manliness lol.


You get double complication points if you start to get a handle on this side of yourself after you're already in a committed relationship.

 

Rejection, or even the fear of it, leads to a depressing cycle of wardrobe purging for many dressers, which I've never been through (maybe a lil bit of depression at some point but thats as much to do with work as anything) and advise you don't get rid if youre thinking about it.


If you truly have the need to express your feminine side, (which I suppose it is) that doesn't go away. And then it leads to not only being in the closet, but dressing behind somebody's back, which is a breach of trust on top of everything else adding to guilt for being a crossdresser instead of embracing it as part of who you are and relaxing with it.


Like the other blogger I'm quoting in part, I am lucky because my wife has been wonderfully supportive even at first when she disapproved .. She has asked me not do dress but hasn't enforced it or mandated it and has come to accept its something I do over time to the point where she's said I'm nicer when I'm dressed.


I know I'm lucky, because there are a million horror stories about crossdressers coming out to their wives or girlfriends with disastrous results. In many cases, it's not the dressing itself that throws everything out of whack; it's the secrets and the sense that the crossdresser was keeping something from them.


The other blogger dated his wife in college and had a dorm room to himself, a typical dump a disaster area, so one day when she was there alone, she made the heroic attempt to try to pick up a bit and came across a
pair of women's pantyhose or tights as we call them in th UK, and when he got back she confronted him with them. "Whose are these??"  Figuring nothing to lose, he said, "Those are mine."

She only said, "Oh. Well that's okay then."


Very Lucky...They actually didn't talk about it directly for a long time -- she just kind of got it.


It was a while before they sat down and had conversations about it. By then most of it had to do with sort of figuring out how much of his life he wanted this to be. Which I'm sure we all go through "Is this something I want for my life?"


I suspect most part-time crossdressers go through this questioning phase.


Finding the balance that I like the other blogger now enjoy came out of much soul searching and many open and honest conversations.