Pop Culture Has Confused Everyone

07/06/2015 13:56



There's a period of confusion for most crossdressers, and part of the reason for that is there aren't really any cultural reference points for this.


There's Eddie Izzard, but he really only does his stand-up specials in dress these days and turns out to support the Labout Party.


Most of his work he's wearing male attire and interviews where he's sporting a goatee, lots of people don't link eddy with Crossdressing even although in recent culture hes one of the most role model Tgirls in the
mainstream.


Really, the main place where you see crossdressing is in comedies: Big Mama's House, Sorority Boys, White Chicks and the like. That's why I think it throws people off.


The pop culture point of reference for a man in a dress who isn't transitioning is a comedy in which a guy is forced to wear a dress by circumstance so it can be played it for laughs (My wife loves the film White
chicks but isn't entirely happy me being a crossdresser).


The blogger whos blog most matches mine comments "It took quite a while to come to an understanding that dressing to feel sexy didn't make dressing sexual, since my only frame of reference was bad jokes or sexual
fetishes or gay men, I thought "Well I must be at least bisexual," so I spent a lot of time trying to fit a square peg in a round hole before finally being able to separate sexual orientation from gender identity"


I expect I must have gone through similar thought patterns especially with my wife initially asking if I was gay .. though a millionth of a second later I knew the answer was no.. my thought pattern took that millionth of a second as id never contemplarted I was gay as not attracted to men nor expecting her to ask if I was Gay..


I also dress to feel sexy as mentioned previously I don't feel sexy as a man but do feel sexy as "Davina" but this doesn't mean dressing is purely sexual ie I don't dress to get off on it ... sometimes I do (blush)


Then there's the Bisexual question and that's a question in chat with other T-girls which is most frequently asked "Are you Bi?" ... Now there are some stunning looking T-girls and many a T-girl has ventured down this route for a variety of reasons but its women who do it for me and I'm too loyal to my wife to venture off with other women let alone another T-Girl.


Ultimately, we occupy a weird little spot in between so many of the more clearly defined designations for gender, sexuality, etc.


In an odd way, being hard to categorize has made us feel a little bit more special.


It forces people to have to examine us a little closer if they want to ever understand us.


Plus it makes close-minded people's heads explode, when they ask "So why do you crossdress?"

and we reply "no idea!".


Look at the clothing aisles in any store and it's pretty clear-cut: There's blue rough and tumble clothes for the boys and pink frilly dresses for the girls.


When a man starts wearing the pink and frilly stuff -- despite not being gay or transitioning to female -- it confuses the hell out of most people.


Hi there. I'm Davina, and I'm a straight crossdresser
"Hi, Davina".

I'm married to a woman, I have kids, a Stressful job which weirdly I enjoy doing, I love Sport and played Rugby, Football and Cricket when younger and occasionally wearing dresses is an important part of my life providing stress relief and I enjoy it.


Why is this such a stigmatised "Thing!?"


Hi There I'm Holly I like to wear mens clothing I'm married to a man, I have kids, a Stressful job which weirdly I enjoy doing, I love Sport and played Rugby, Football and Cricket as a younger woman and  occasionally wearing dresses is an important part of my life but I prefer to dress like a man.


She must be a strong willed liberated woman? Bit of a tomboy...But I bet her husband loves it when she wears that dress.