Dealing with guilt (Counselling?)

05/07/2015 15:23

Written by Christine Webber, psychotherapist and Dr David Delvin,GP

Edited by Davina

Crossdressers can be very calm and happy about their cross-dressing, especially if they belong to a good support group, have an interesting social lifeas their female persona, and have friends or family who accept theirneed to cross-dress.


for me my support group I suppose is chatting in TVChix and I have my wife to confide in and talk to about Crossdressing.


We have recently found that the vast majority of guys like this never even think about having therapy, because they find their lives fine as they are.


I've never ever contemplated therapy although having told my wife if she'd decided we needed some sort of counselling I'd have tried although I'm strong willed and probably wouldn't put any stock on the person counselling us that they knew what they were talking about in relative terms to us as a couple and to me as a Crossdresser as unless you've been there and done it I can't see how someone can counsel someone on the subject of crossdressing.. The same as everything else I have a degree in Civil Engineering all books and
exams  etc but you don't learn until you do it for real.. I've found this especially with Agony Aunts as I've blogged previously... but then again having crossdressed some crossdressers couldn't  provide council as some have a funny idea about crossdressing over complicating it.


The Drs who wrote this article state they believe men who feel overloaded with guilt should always seek counselling. But as above i'd hope if someone did go for counselling that the person providing the
counselling had experience with crossdressing.


They will invariably feel much better for talking over the situation with someone who is non-judgmental... I agree with this.