Awkward situations "Oh no someone started a conversationa about Crossdressing ..."

18/03/2015 20:47

I am sure almost everyone can relate to the following... It's funny as in a work meeting today someone randomly started talking anout crossdressing and what one member of our team may do on weekends.. not me incidentally but it made me chuckle.

 

You are seated at a dinner table, in a pub or in a meeting or randomly amongst relatives, or friends, or aquaintences at a meal, just out for a pint, or in a technical confrence, the office or on site and someone makes a derogatory remark about crossdressing in general.


It starts innocently enough and usually derogatory or in humour and in line with the norm "they're weirdos, theyre perverts or they're all gay.. he calls himself Shirley but only on weekends"


From there it progresses to someone knowing of a crossdresser who's wife left him and "No wonder she left him".. I've actually been involved in very similar awkward conversations.


It quickly turns to Gay bashing, crossdressing bashing - one remark after another. And you, and sometimes your wife / girlfriend are sitting there taking it all in thinking, "If you only knew"


You and Your wife may be thinking 'Sitting here is someone you have known for years! Someone you LIKE! Someone you RESPECT! and trust who crossdresses and you're all so way off the mark about crossdressing'


But what can you do about this conversation?



Do you try to educate, such as "Well, you know that one out of ten men crossdresses. And most lead successful, happy lives! and the majority are actually straight heterosexual men using Crossdressing as a release".... leading to stunned silence at this outburst defence of crossdressing.... Which inevitably leads to suspision.. "Do you crossdress?"


Or do you try to change the subject.... "why are you changing the subject have we hit a nerve ... are you a crossdresser?"


In the back of wives and girlfriends minds, they're hearing their friends views on crossdressing real or bravado it isnt good listening and may bring negative thoughts on crossdressing back in her mind... "This is what our friends think about crossdressing OMG he's is a freak after all"


I was once horrified when a good friend of my wifes (her bestie) and as much a good friend of mine also remarked telling my wife that her boyfriend at the time wore her stockings and lingerie and wanted to "get it on" with him crossdressed" and she continued to ridicule him... me thinking a very trusted friend is giving her view on what she thinks of crossdressing oh no!!! how will this shape my wifes opinion of me as a crossdresser..


My wifes also remarked on crossdressing that its different if youre in a relationship with a crossdresser as opposed to listening to someone else talk about a relationship with a crossdresser.


The preceding scenarios haves occurred in my life MANY times!  and at frequent intervals... I've even joked about Crossdressing myself in my Alpha male bravado with collegues in work thinking "If only they knew their fearless leader had great legs in stockings and high heels and is good at makeup"


We need to be careful in deciding just how much and if we are going to reveal our own connection to the crossdressing world.  Telling friends I crossdressed when out for a drink in humour to wind my wife up was maybe a silly thing to do her holding her head in her hands in disbelief as I told friends I crossdressed and they said we could call you Davina etc etc knowing full well they'd never believe me... planted a seed maybe so better be careful in the future.


And what about children as mentioned in my last blog and how their opinion on the subject matter may be shaped, who may be present at the same awkward situation do you let this help them form an opinion on
crossdressing or try to explain it to them subtelly.


I have tried to explain crossdressing subtelly when they've seen men dressed as women on TV as so what its only clothes and makeup he's just dressed up different and once when they saw a T Girl in Torquay ... "OMG Dad I'm sure that woman was a man"

 

How are children supposed to respond? A lot of food for thought here... how to react in this tricky situation... Subtelly i would say.


Keep a count how many times crossdressing is mentioned.. Id say you'll hear it discussed to some degree at least once per month if not more so begs the question how many more like me jest in bravado but actually unwind in a dress, stockings, high heels, makeup and a wig at home... See my other blog about my business meeting where one guy at the meeting let on a bit too much "a tell" which another crossdresser being more discrete had radar go off... "You protest too much go back to your hotel room and put your dress on you know you want to" lol...